Methamphetamine Crimes in Florida
Florida law provides for serious penalties for any criminal offense involving the possession, possession with intent to sell, distribution or trafficking in methamphetamine. Methamphetamine is classified as a Schedule II controlled substances. On the street this substance is commonly called Meth or Crystal Meth. Florida law provides that this Schedule II substance has a “high potential for abuse” with “accepted but severely restricted medical use,” and that abuse may lead to dependence.
Defenses to charges of possessing methamphetamine often center around an illegal search. In those cases, the criminal defense attorney can file and litigate a motion to suppress the illegally seized items. In other cases, there is insufficient evidence to prove either actual or constructive possession. Other defenses exist to fight these serious charges.
Attorney for Methamphetamine Charges in Brooksville, FL
If you are charged with the possession, possession with intent to sell, or trafficking in methamphetamine, then contact an experienced attorney at The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A.. Attorney Ashley Aulls represents clients throughout Brooksville in Hernando County, Inverness in Citris County, New Port Richey and Dade City in Pasco County, and Bushnell in Sumter County, FL.
Overview on Methamphetamine Charges in Florida
- Different Types of Methamphetamine Crimes
- Methamphetamine Information Center
- Finding Methamphetamine Attorneys in Brooksville, FL
Possession of Methamphetamine – Under Florida Statute § 893.13(6)(a), the possession of a controlled substance such as methamphetamine without a valid prescription, except by a physician or pharmacist, is a third degree felony. A third degree felony is punishable by up to five years in prison an a $5.000 fine. The elements of possession of a controlled substance include:
- The defendant possessed a certain substance.
- The substance was methamphetamine.
- The defendant had knowledge of the presence of the substance.
Under Florida Statute § 893.149 it is a second degree felony to possess a listed precursor or essential chemical with the intent to manufacture a methamphetamine or another controlled substance. The statute also prohibits the possession or distribution of methamphetamine if the person knows that the chemical will be used in the manufacture of a controlled substance. Possession of a precursor to methamphetamine is a Level 4 offense.
Under Florida Statute § 893.135(1)(f) trafficking in methamphetamine provides for the following penalties:
- 14 grams or more of methamphetamine is a first degree felony with 3 year minimum mandatory and a $50,000 fine;
- 28 grams or more of methamphetamine is a first degree felony with a 7 year minimum mandatory and a $100,000 fine;
- 200 grams or more of methamphetamine is a first degree felony with a 15 year minimum mandatory and a $250,000 fine.
Methamphetamine Statutes in Florida – The Florida Alliance for Drug Endangered Children explains Florida’s Criminal Meth Statutes and the harm caused to children if the commission of the crime occurs in a structure or conveyance where any child under 16 years of age is present or if the commission of the crime causes any child under 16 years of age to suffer great bodily harm.
Methamphetamine Drug Guide– Read more about meth (often called White Cross, Chalk, Croak, Fire, Crank, or Glass on the street) and the paraphernalia used to smoke or consume methamphetamine from the Partnership for America with tips for parents of children with drug addiction and substance abuse issues.
If you are charged with a criminal offenses related to the possession, distribution or trafficking of methamphetamine then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A.. We represent clients throughout Brooksville in Hernando County, Dade City and New Port Richey in Pasco County, Inverness in Citris County, and Bushnell in Sumter County, Florida. Call (352) 593-4115 to discuss the facts of your case today.