FR-44 Insurance for DUI
When a person is arrested for allegedly driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or a controlled substance in Florida, his or her immediate concern usually revolves around the more immediate consequences of possible jail time or fines. One of the extremely costly long-term punishments of a DUI conviction is the requirement to obtain an FR-44 form that certifies a person is maintaining an automobile insurance policy that complies with the state’s minimum liability limits.
Obtaining an FR-44 inevitably leads to a person having to pay significantly increased insurance premiums because insurers immediately know the person’s license has been suspended, and motorists who have been convicted of DUI in Florida must maintain the liability coverage for three years. Because an FR-44 policy is usually “non-cancellable,” people can be required to make substantial payments that cover several months in advance of coverage.
Lawyer in Brooksville, FL Discusses FR-44 Insurance for DUI Convictions
If you were arrested for a DUI offense anywhere in Central Florida, it will be in your best interest to immediately seek legal representation. The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. aggressively defends clients charged with drunk driving in New Port Richey, Inverness, Spring Hill, Wildwood, Brooksville, Weeki Wachee, and many surrounding areas of Hernando County.
Brooksville criminal defense attorney Ashley Aulls can fight to possibly get your criminal charges reduced or dismissed so you can avoid FR-44 requirements. He can review your case and answer all of your legal questions when you call (352) 593-4115 to set up your initial consultation.
Florida FR-44 Insurance for DUI Information Center
- How does FR-44 insurance work?
- Is there any way to avoid having to obtain an FR-44 form?
- Where can I learn more about FR-44 Insurance for DUI in Brooksville?
FR-44 Requirements in Hernando County
When an individual is convicted of DUI in Florida, his or her driver’s license will be suspended. In order to have the license reinstated, that person will need to obtain an FR-44 form from an insurance company.
An FR-44 requires the insurance company to notify the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) if an insurance policy is canceled, terminated, or lapses for any reason. Florida Statute § 324.023 requires every owner or operator of a motor vehicle who is required to be registered in Florida and who, regardless of adjudication of guilt, has been found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of DUI to establish and maintain the ability to respond in damages for liability on account of accidents arising out of the use of a motor vehicle in the following amounts:
- $100,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, one person in any one crash and, subject to such limits for one person;
- $300,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one crash; and
- $50,000 because of property damage in any one crash.
If a person’s FR-44 insurance lapses for any reason, the Florida DHSMV will suspend that individual’s driver’s license.
Avoiding FR-44 Insurance for DUI in Brooksville
The only real way that a person accused of DUI can avoid the increased insurance costs associated with FR-44 insurance requirements is to avoid being convicted of the crime in question. Even when an alleged offender is arrested after submitting to a breath test that showed a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more, certain police errors or oversights in the administration of tests or handling of other aspects of the arrest could make it difficult for a prosecutor to prove the alleged offender’s guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
A criminal defense lawyer will be able to review all of the evidence a prosecutor has and determine the strongest possible legal defenses applicable to your case.
Florida FR-44 Insurance for DUI Resources
Driver License Check | Florida DHSMV — Visit this section of the Florida DHSMV website to check the status of your Florida driver’s license. Enter your driver license and an electronic code on the screen to access your driving record. A parent can also view his or her child’s driving history by entering the child’s driver license number, the last four digits of the child’s Social Security Number, and his or her date of birth.
Florida Statutes Chapter 324 | Financial Responsibility — View the full text of state laws governing automobile insurance requirements in Florida. The Florida DHSMV is responsible for compliance and enforcement of this chapter of the Florida Statutes Chapters as well as Chapter 627, which deals with insurance rates and contracts. Section 324.023 in this chapter is the statute concerning minimum liability limits for people convicted of DUI.
The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. | Brooksville FR-44 Insurance for DUI Defense Attorney
Were you arrested anywhere in Central Florida for an alleged drunk driving offense? You will want to retain legal counsel as soon as possible. Contact The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. today.
Ashley Aulls is an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Brooksville who represents individuals in communities throughout Sumter County, Pasco County, Hernando County, and Citrus County. Call (352) 593-4115 or complete an online contact form to have our attorney provide an honest and thorough evaluation by setting up a confidential consultation.