Zero Tolerance Laws
A “zero-tolerance” policy is directed to underage drinking. In Florida, if a person under the age of 21 is found to be in control of a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol content of 0.2 or more, they could face driving under the influence (DUI) charges.
The purpose of “zero-tolerance” laws is to discourage underage drinking. Law enforcement is trained to test any person under 21 if they believe he or she had anything to drink. Police officers only have to judge if they drank any amount of an alcoholic beverage. The officer does not need to think the offender is impaired to be charged.
Lawyer for Zero Tolerance DUI in Brooksville, FL
Have you or your child been charged for driving under the influence in the Central Florida area? Penalties for underage drinkers are enhanced and can carry severe consequences. It is in your best interest to contact a defense attorney immediately. Contact The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A., to formulate a legal plan of defense today.
Ashley Aulls is a skilled attorney with years of experience in criminal defense. The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. is only a few minutes from the Hernando County Courthouse and represents clients in, Sumter County, Citrus County, and Hernando County.
Contact The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. now by simply dialing (352) 593-4115, or submitting a short online contact form for a initial consultation.
Purpose for Zero-Tolerance Laws in FL
Driving under the influence is illegal no matter the state. However, in Florida the courts are stricter when it comes to underage drinkers. Zero-tolerance laws are a direct result of the state and law enforcement trying to crack down on underage drinking.
If a person, older than 21 years of age, has blood-alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8 they are considered to be “per se” impaired. “Per se” means that he or she is intoxicated for purposes of the law.
For a person younger than 21 years of age, circumstances are different. The BAC limit is only 0.2 for a drunk driving charge. 0.2 BAC is very little. Even a singular drink can raise a person’s BAC levels to 0.2. If the prosecution is able to prove that the offender was controlling the vehicle, the offender may face a DUI.
Penalties for Underage Drunk Drivers in FL
Underage drivers may have different blood-alcohol content guidelines, but they still face the same penalties. Many of these penalties can happen to the accused before a conviction, and can even happen if the verdict is guilty.
A first offense DUI constitutes:
- Up to six months in jail, or probation;
- Community Service;
- Vehicle impoundment;
- Mandatory drug or alcohol counseling;
- License suspension; and
- A possible fine up to $1,000.
A person accused of drunk driving has the constitutional right to refuse a blood-alcohol content (BAC) test. If a person under the age of 21 refuses, however, their license will be suspended for a year. A subsequent offense will result in an eighteen months suspension.
A qualified criminal defense attorney can contest a suspension in many ways. The charges may be reduced or dropped entirely if certain paperwork is not completed, or the stop is challenged.
Florida DUI or Drunk Driving – Visit the Department of Motor Vehicles in Florida website and read the penalties for drunk driving (DUI). See recent DUI statistics, convictions, ignition interlock procedures, and zero-tolerance laws.
Alcohol and Drug Prevention – Visit University of Tampa’s website, and see the underage drinking information adapted from the University of Central Florida’s “Florida Spring Break Survival Guide”. Read different laws regarding underage alcohol drinkers and drug users in citizen’s language.
45 States That Allow Underage Alcohol Consumption – Visit ProCon.org, a nonprofit public charity supported by online user donations that relay nonpartisan information on important issues. Research alcohol laws by state and which of the fifty states “allow” underage drinking.
Locating a Lawyer for a Zero-Tolerance DUI in Hernando County, FL
Are you underage and been charged with a DUI? Have the penalties and legal language overwhelmed you? If yes, contact The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. for a criminal defense attorney.
It is important to act now and preserve your future. Ashley Aulls is a seasoned defense attorney with fifteen years in criminal law. The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. accepts clients in all the counties surrounding Hernando County including Bushnell in Sumter County, Brooksville in Hernando County, and Inverness in Citrus County.
The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. is well-versed in DUIs and other driving-related charges. Ashley Aulls is familiar with local law enforcement including the Sumter County Sheriff’s Office, and the Hernando County Sheriff’s Office.
Have a plan with your charge. Start with the first step. Dial (352) 593-4115 to contact a licensed criminal defense attorney today for a initial consultation.
This article was last updated by Jordan Anderson, on June 29th, 2018.