Driving While License Suspended / Revoked
A drivers license may be suspended or revoked for several reasons in Florida. Many individuals charged with Driving While License Suspended or Revoked are not even aware that their driving privileges had been suspended or terminated.
While Driving While License Suspended or Revoked is a common charge in Florida, it is also a very serious criminal offense. This can be a misdemeanor or felony offense, and a conviction can have a dramatic impact on your criminal record, insurance rates, and basic livelihood.
Brooksville Driving While License Suspended / Revoked Lawyer
If you have been arrested for Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in Florida, it is important to immediately seek legal representation before your first court appearance. The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. helps clients in Brooksville, Bushnell, Webster, Wildwood, and other communities with drivers license issues.
Ashley Aulls can review your case during a confidential consultation when you contact him at (352) 593-4115 or send a message online. Our criminal defense attorney will work to reduce or eliminate the penalties you face and get your driving privileges reinstated.
Hernando County Driving While License Suspended / Revoked Info
- Reasons Why Florida Drivers Licenses Get Suspended / Revoked
- Penalties for Driving While License Suspended / Revoked in Brooksville
- Florida Driving While License Suspended / Revoked Defenses
Reasons Why Florida Drivers Licenses Get Suspended / Revoked
There are a multitude of reasons why the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) may suspend or revoke a drivers license, including, but not limited to:
- You accumulated a certain number of points on your driving record within a certain timeframe (12 points in 12 months [30 day suspension], 18 points in 18 months [three-month suspension], or 24 points in 36 months [one-year suspension])
- You failed a driving test
- You failed to appear in court
- You failed to maintain continuous insurance
- You failed to meet minimum vision requirements, or you have other medical conditions that do not allow you to safely operate a motor vehicle
- You failed to pay child support, fines, court judgments, or court costs
- You failed to stop after being involved in a crash in which someone was killed or injured
- You have a conviction for certain prostitution or other lewd act offenses involving a vehicle
- You have a vehicular manslaughter conviction
- You have been convicted of perjury in civil court
- You have been defined as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) if within a five-year period you have three or more motor vehicle-related criminal convictions or 15 traffic offense convictions under the Florida point system.
- You have drug- or theft-related convictions
- You have petit theft convictions
- You have previous DUI offenses, such as arrest, conviction, or refusal
- You made a false statement to the DHSMV in regards to the ownership or operation of a vehicle
- You were previously convicted of violating Florida Statue § 316.191, Racing on highways (“street racing”)
Penalties for Driving While License Suspended / Revoked in Brooksville
Florida Statute § 322.34 differentiates between driving without knowledge and driving with knowledge of being suspended or revoked. The level of the punishments you face depends escalates with repeated violations:
- First conviction — Second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to $500 in fines and/or up to 60 days in jail.
- Second conviction — First-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and/or up to one year in jail.
- Third or subsequent conviction — Third-degree felony punishable by up to $5,000 in fines and/or up to five years in prison.
Florida Driving While License Suspended / Revoked Defenses
There are several factors to your case that a Brooksville criminal defense attorney can investigate and challenge to help get the charges against you reduced or completely dismissed. Some possible defenses to Driving While License Suspended or Revoked include, but are not limited to:
- Challenging the validity of the underlying suspension and/or the traffic stop
- You did not know your license was suspended or revoked
- You were charged under the wrong statute number or subsection
- You were not actually driving or in “actual physical control” of the vehicle
- You were not driving on a public highway
- Your vehicle or the vehicle in question was not a “motor vehicle” for purposes of the drivers license statute
- Your Florida drivers license was reinstated or you had sufficient reason to believe it had been reinstated
Find the Best Driving While License Suspended / Revoked Lawyer in Brooksville
Any sort of charge for Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in Florida deserves to be taken seriously. The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. aggressively defends clients against driving violation charges in Hernando County, Sumter County, Pasco County, and Citrus County.
You can get an honest and thorough review of your case when you contact Ashley Aulls at (352) 593-4115 or send him a message online right now to schedule a no obligation consultation. Our Brooksville criminal defense attorney will work to help you obtain the most favorable outcome possible to your case.