FREE CONSULTATIONS (352) 593-4115

Sexual Offender Registration

The state of Florida is well-known for its aggressive responses to sex offenses. When a defendant has been convicted of a sex crime, one of the consequences includes registration on a sex offender registry. The purpose of the registry is to provide easily accessible information to the public about who is listed and the general location of where offenders live. The idea is for the public to be informed and make decisions based on what they have learned about a specific individual. Once registered, local and state law enforcement agencies update their registries, usually daily. For those convicted of sex crimes, the sex offender registry can have damaging and lifelong impacts on their personal and professional lives.

Florida crimes that require registration include:

  • Internet sex crimes against minor children (pornography, solicitation, live communication sexual in nature)
  • Sexual misconduct or battery
  • Unlawful sexual activity with certain minors
  • Video voyeurism of a minor child
  • Sexual conduct with a person in a mental health facility or under the care of an agency for developmental disabilities
  • Sexual offenses with kidnapped minors under the age of 13
  • Lewd or lascivious offenses to minor children or vulnerable adults
  • False imprisonment of minors under age 13 with the additional sexual element
  • Human trafficking

Because there are numerous sex crimes, the above list summarizes several specific crimes. Those charged with a sex crime should discuss how the charge impacts whether registration is required. In nearly every case, registration is required regardless of the criminal conviction.

Florida Sex Offender Registration Attorney

If you have been charged with a sex crime that could land you on the sex offender registry for life, the stakes are high. Your reputation and freedom is on the line. You owe it to yourself to speak with a skilled Florida sex offender registration lawyer. In a difficult moment such as this, turn to The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A..

The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. can provide a strong, effective defense against those charges. To schedule a free consultation, call (352) 593-4115 today.

We represent clients in communities all over the Hernando County area, including Wildwood, Brooksville, Weeki Wachee, New Port Richey, Inverness, Spring Hill, and many others.


Back to top

Information Center


Back to top

Florida Sex Offender System

Anyone convicted of a Florida sex crime must register in the Florida Sexual Offender and Predator System. Registration is required within 48 hours of being released from law enforcement custody. Typically, this means that an offender has about two days to register in the system after release from prison. If an offender is on parole or probation for the sex crime, registration within 48 hours is still required. Unlike some other states, Florida requires that offenders maintain registry in the system for life. When individuals register, they must provide the following information:

  • Name, Date of Birth, and Social Security Number
  • Race and Sex
  • Weight, Height, Hair Color, and Eye Color
  • Identifying Marks (tattoos, birthmarks)
  • Fingerprints, Palmprints, and Photographs
  • Occupation and Place of Employment
  • Residential Address (including homelessness)
  • Vehicle Information
  • Telephone Numbers/Email Addresses/Internet Identifiers
  • Conviction Information
  • Passport Information
  • Immigration Status/Documentation
  • Professional License Information

In addition to the above, Florida divides its registration system into two categories—sexual offenders and sexual predators. These labels guide the public on the types of crimes a particular person committed. “Offenders” include the vast majority of individuals in the registration system and include most sex crimes. If labeled a “predator,” the person was convicted of a sexually violent crime or was civilly committed as a sexual predator. Depending on the crime, offenders must register up to four times per year. Typically, individuals identified as predators must register up to four times per year, while “offenders” must register at least twice yearly. Because the “predator” status is considered a worse status, it is vital to work with a skilled attorney who can provide the representation needed to reduce the likelihood of this label becoming a lifelong consequence.

Additionally, any time a registered individual moves to a new address, the individual must update their information with the registration system. All registered sex offenders must also update their local law enforcement agencies of nearly any change in their personal information. Within 48 hours of the change, individuals must notify the law enforcement agency of vehicle changes, residential addresses, email addresses, phone numbers, and jobs and occupations.

While the registry usually involves individuals convicted of a sex crime in Florida, out-of-state residents who visit short-term, take up a temporary residence or attend higher education in Florida must also register. The information will likely remain on Florida’s registry even if the stay is short-term.


Back to top

Penalties for Failing to Maintain Sex Offender Registration

In addition to prison time and fines associated with sex crimes, individuals can face severe penalties for failing to maintain the requirements of the registration system. If found guilty of failing to maintain the registry, a conviction often results in a third-degree felony offense, punishable by up to five years in prison and possible fines up to $5,000.

Because registration is required two to four times per year and involves updating personal information with law enforcement and the registry, it can be easy to obtain a charge for failing to register or comply. Even if the person who did not register or comply did so by accident, a conviction could still result.

Penalties can also apply to offenders who live in a different state but are visiting the state of Florida. Within 48 hours of arriving in the state, the individual must report in person to their local law enforcement agency and notify them of the intent of their stay in Florida, where they are staying, and when they plan to leave. Failing to appear in person can result in being charged with a felony, punishable by jail time and fines.


Back to top

Additional Resources

Registration Statute – Under Florida Statute Section 943.045, all registration requirements are provided as well as all penalties.

Florida Department of Law Enforcement FAQ – The FDLE operates the state of Florida’s registration system. It provides many answers to frequently asked questions by members of the public and those accused of sex crimes.


Back to top

Brooksville Sex Offender Registration Lawyer | Hernando County, FL

If you are being investigated and are worried about registration as a sex offender in Brookeville, it is extremely important to secure the services of a knowledgeable sex crime attorney. Hernando County criminal defense attorney Ashley Aulls at The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. has been defending clients charged with sex offenses for over 20 years.

Mr. Aulls understands the burden of having to go through life as a registered sex offender. He also believes that everyone deserves a second chance. If you reside in Hernando County, Citrus County, or Sumter County, contact The Law Office of Ashley Aulls, P.A. at (352) 593-4115 today.


Back to top